“Living the Dream.” What Does This Mean?

Within the last year, as I’ve casually asked people how they’re doing, they’d respond: “Living the dream.” I guess I’m suppose to know what they’re talking about. Excuse me for being out of the circle of pop culture, but during this short season, I have a life to live that lives mainly on books. This can’t be that dream, can it?

Relatively recently, a guy (fellow seminarian) asked me if I was living the dream. My response: “I don’t know. Life is hard.” Without giving me more time for further explanatory response, he answered, “You just gotta trust in Jesus, man…”

So, especially since that curious conversation cut short, I’ve asked the demanding question only within myself and to my wife: “What does it mean to live the dream?”

Anyone have a cultural clue here, as to what this saying might mean?

2 thoughts on ““Living the Dream.” What Does This Mean?

Leave a Reply

