‘Read Jonathan Edwards!’

In 1977, when I was still working as a schoolmaster in Somerset, England, I travelled up to London to consult Dr Martyn Lloyd-Jones with regard to entering the ministry. In the course of our conversation at his home in Ealing, I asked him if he would give me some advice on the matter of reading. Without any hesitation he replied, ‘Read Jonathan Edwards!’ I had, in fact, already acquired a copy of the two-volume Banner of Truth edition of Edwards’ Works and had begun to read them; but Dr Lloyd-Jones’ advice spurred me on to read Edwards more, and I began to read his sermons and treatises with greater vigour. Thus began my interest in and love for the great American preacher-philosopher-theologian–an interest and a love that have lasted more than thirty years.

— John Carrick, From the preface of The Preaching of Jonathan Edwards.

Leave a Reply

